College Committees

The College of Education Bylaws (revised May 2016) provide for faculty governance through three elected committees and other appointed standing and ad-hoc committees. The College Leadership Team is comprised of two primary bodies, the Committee of Department Executives and the College Executive Committee. 

Committee of Department Executives (CoDE)

CoDE consists of Heads and Chairs of academic units in the College of Education and the Associate Deans. General charges are to disseminate and implement campus and College policies at the departmental level; develop and implement department and College strategic, financial, and business and scholarship plans; develop College responses to problems and issues arising in the College or campus; assure compliance with campus and College polices, including but not limited to promotion and tenure, faculty searches, unit bylaws, and sabbaticals.

College Executive Committee (CEC)

CEC consists of seven members who serve staggered two-year terms. Four members are elected by their departments, and three at-large members are elected by College-wide vote.  All voting faculty members are eligible to serve with the exception of those holding administrative appointments.  No more than three members from one department may serve, and no member may serve more than two consecutive terms. At its first meeting the CEC elects a moderator. The Dean of the College is an ex-officio member and CEC Chair. CEC is the primary advisory committee to the dean on matters such as budget; personnel policies; faculty searches; academic programs, policies, and requirements; space allocation, and other policy issues of importance. CEC represents the voices and concerns of the College of Education faculty in all deliberations. All CEC meetings are open except when specific personnel matters are being considered, and the agenda and minutes of each meeting are posted here.

College Executive Committee Members

Department elected members 2016-2018
Associate Professor Karla Moller, Curriculum & Instruction
Professor Eboni Zamani-Gallaher, Education Policy, Organization and Leadership
Professor James Rounds, Educational Psychology
Associate Professor Hedda Meadan, Special Education 
College elected at-large members 2017-2019
Associate Professor Kristin Bub, Educational Psychology
Associate Professor Maya Israel, Special Education
Associate Professor Robb Lindgren, Curriculum & Instruction

Promotion and Tenure Committee

The College Promotion and Tenure Committee is comprised of seven tenured full professors, with no department having more than two representatives. Each department selects one representative and the remaining three at-large members are elected by College-wide vote. Members may not hold administrative appointments.  Members serve staggered two-year terms and become ineligible to serve for one year following two back-to-back terms.  Committee members cannot vote at multiple levels and will be recused from review and vote on cases at the College level.  The Promotion and Tenure committee is advisory to the Dean and meets to evaluate and vote on the dossiers of tenure-track and specialized faculty each year, and as hiring needs necessitate.  By request, in an advisory capacity, the committee may review a department’s third-year review evaluation of an assistant professor.

College Promotion and Tenure Committee Members

Department appointed members 2017-2019
Professor Stacy Dymond, Special Education
Professor James Rounds, Educational Psychology
Professor Liora Bresler, Curriculum & Instruction
Professor Don Hackman, Education Policy, Organization and Leadership
College elected at-large members 2016-2018
Professor Rochelle Gutierrez, Curriculum & Instruction
Professor Michelle Perry, Educational Psychology
Professor William Trent, Education Policy, Organization and Leadership

College Grievance Committee (CGC)

The College of Education By-laws establish the College Grievance Committee, which shall be elected annually and consist of three members of the tenure-track faculty, one member of the specialized faculty, and two College-enrolled graduate students. (Graduate students serve only when the grievant is a student.)  All persons with administrative appointments are excluded from membership on this committee. The CGC may receive confidential inquiries and complaints from faculty, specialized faculty, staff, and students after informal and departmental processes have been exhausted, including allegations of capricious grading or evaluation, and charges of academic dishonesty. You can view the College’s Grievance Policy and Procedures (revised March 2017), any questions may be directed to the Dean’s office.

College Grievance Committee Members

Associate Professor Rebecca Ginsburg, Education Policy, Organization & Leadership
Associate Professor Ruth Nicole Brown, Education Policy, Organization & Leadership
Associate Professor Meghan Burke, Special Education
Teaching Associate Professor Johnell Bentz, Special Education
Theopolies Moton, doctoral student, Education Policy, Organization and Leadership
Krista Smith, doctoral student, Education Policy, Organization and Leadership

Standing College Committees

The College of Education has a variety of standing committees to advise the Dean and Associate Deans on specific issues, with committee reports due to the Dean’s Office in May of each academic year. As of 2016-2017, the following are the College’s standing committees:

Advisory to the Dean
• Diversity, Equity and Multicultural Education
• Faculty and Staff Awards
• Online Programs Steering Committee

Advisory to the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Academic Programs (undergraduate and graduate)
• Undergraduate Honors and Awards

Advisory to the Associate Dean for Research and Research Education
• College Research Committee

View complete list of 2017-2018 College Committees.